Img_2943

Mission and Vision

Gut Inspired is a group of Canadians living with Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis who have joined forces to increase the awareness of inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) in Canada, offer support for individuals living with IBD and provide personal experiences to assist others living with IBD learn how to better manage their disease.


The Gut Inspired Executive Committee

Img_2928

Ashley Anderson

Ashley Anderson is from Mississauga, Ontario and works as a consumer support specialist at an ostomy company. She is a long-time volunteer for the Crohn's and Colitis Foundation of Canada and the Gutsy Generation. She helped form the book: Tales from the Throne. Ashley was diagnosed with Crohn's Disease at the age of 16, but has had symptoms since the age of 9.

 


Img_2904

Carly Lindsay

Carly Lindsay, originally from Waterford Ontario, is a nursing student at Queen's University. Upon Graduation she plans on pursuing further studies in gastrointestinal and enterostomal nursing. Carly has trekked to the base camp of Mount Everest to raise awareness for IBD and those living with ostomies. At the age of 10, Carly was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis, 6 weeks after her diagnosis she received a permanent ileostomy.


Img_2897

Clinton Shard

Clinton Shard is a business student and adventurer from Squamish, British Columbia. Clinton has climbed Mount Kilimanjaro to raise awareness for IBD and has become a voice for youth living with inflammatory bowel disease. He was diagnosed with Crohn's disease at the age of 12.

 


Img_2914

Elliott Gordon

Elliott Gordon, originally from Thornhill, Ontario, is studying overseas to become a pediatric gastroenterologist. He enjoys running with his dog and working out, as well as climbing and traveling. Having lived well with Crohn's Disease since age 9, he has become an outspoken advocate for living above and beyond the confines of the disease.

 


Img_2919

Géneviève Leveille

Géneviève Leveille is a nursing student, fluent in both French and English from St-Bruno, Québec. She was a competitive synchronized swimmer and now a coach. She was diagnosed with Crohn’s disease at the age of 13 and has lived with an ostomy since this time.

 


Img_2908

Iain Chisholm

Iain Chisholm is a 20-something rock climber and design enthusiast, originally from Truro, Nova Scotia but currently living in Calgary, Alberta. Iain was diagnosed with Crohn's Disease at the age of 11 and as of recently lives with a permanent ileostomy.

 


Img_2912

James Najman

James Najman is a kinesiology student studying at University of the Fraser Valley, Currently he is living in Abbotsford, BC. James plays as a forward on the Cascades varsity soccer team at the university. He was diagnosed with Crohn's Disease at the age of 11. James loves to share his story to help others realize that they can achieve whatever they put their mind to.

 


Jennie

Jennie David

Jennie David is a student at Boston University majoring in Psychology. She was diagnosed with Crohn's Disease at 12 years old, and chose to have permanent ileostomy surgery at 19. Jennie wants to be a pediatric psychologist for chronically ill children and do research in medical decision-making. Jennie tries to live her gutsiest every day by having an active lifestyle and being an advocate for people living with IBD. She has hiked Machu Picchu and completed a half-marathon for IBD and ostomy awareness.

Img_2922

Jodi Sampson

Jodi Sampson is a new parent who is enjoying everything motherhood has to offer. She is also an empowered high school science teacher who openly shares her diagnosis and has used it to teach her students about the digestive system. Jodi is originally from Louisdale, Nova Scotia and currently lives in Georgetown, Ontario. She was diagnosed with Crohn's disease at the age of 19 but has been in remission for the last 5 years.

 


Img_2907

Jonathan Caron

Jonathan Caron is a man with a dream. He is a professional triathlete with a fierce determination. He has competed at many international championships as a member of a Canadian national team. Jonathan is an inspiring man with a true understanding of the devastating impacts of living with digestive disease. Jonathan Caron has lived with ulcerative colitis for over 20 years.
 

Kevin-web

Kevin Bourque

Kevin Bourque is a 30-something fitness and wellness fanatic from Fredericton, New Brunswick who enjoys Zumba, weight lifting, Yoga, martial arts, hiking, and climbing. He was diagnosed with infantile Crohn’s disease at 3 months old and lives with a permanent ileostomy.


Img_2917

Marc Lelacheur

Marc Lelacheur is a 20-something information technology professional from Halifax, Nova Scotia, who enjoys comics, photography, and travelling. Marc was diagnosed with Crohn's Disease at the age of 16, and has since become an avid volunteer for the CCFC year-round.

 


Img_2901

Michele Hepburn

Michele Hepburn from Stittsville, Ontario is President and one of the founding members of the 3C Foundation of Canada. Michele is a former nurse and holds a Bachelor of Health Sciences degree. She has lived with Crohn’s disease since 2001, and has become a strong voice for individuals living with Crohn’s, colitis, and colorectal cancer.

 


Img_2925

Nancy

Nancy is a police officer whose greatest passion is traveling. She was first diagnosed with ulcerative colitis at the age of 27. Experiencing multiple surgeries including two temporary ileostomies, Nancy was later diagnosed with Crohn's disease. What has helped Nancy through her journey the most is her sense of humour and positive attitude. Nancy is fluent in both French and English. 


Img_2893

Rob Hill

Rob Hill is a climbing buff from Nanaimo, British Columbia and the only ostomate and individual living with Crohn's to climb Mount Everest and complete the seven summits. Rob is also a founder of IDEAS, the Intestinal Disease Education and Awareness Society. He has lived with Crohn’s disease since 1993.

Img_2943

Mission et vision

Gut Inspired est un groupe de Canadiens vivant avec la maladie de Crohn et la rectocolite hémorragique qui ont uni leurs forces pour accroître la sensibilisation aux maladies inflammatoires de l’intestin (MII) au Canada, offrir un soutien aux personnes vivant avec une MII et partager leurs expériences personnelles afin de s’aider à mieux prendre en charge leur maladie.


Comité exécutif de Gut Inspired

Img_2928

Ashley Anderson

Ashley Anderson est de Mississauga, en Ontario et travaille comme spécialiste en soutien aux consommateurs pour une entreprise offrant des produits et des services aux personnes ayant subi une stomie. Elle travaille depuis longtemps comme bénévole pour la Fondation canadienne des maladies inflammatoires de l’intestin et la Génération des Gutsy. Elle a participé à l’élaboration du livre Tales from the Throne. Ashley a reçu un diagnostic de maladie de Crohn à l'âge de 16 ans, mais elle éprouve des symptômes depuis l'âge de 9 ans.


Img_2904

Carly Lindsay

Carly Lindsay, habite à Waterford en Ontario et est une étudiante en soins infirmiers à l'Université Queen. Après sa graduation, elle a l'intention de se spécialiser en gastro-entérologie et en stomothérapie. Carly a réalisé l'ascension du camp de base du Mont Everest afin de sensibiliserle public aux  MII et aux personnes vivant avec une stomie. A l'âge de 10 ans, Carly a reçu le diagnostique de colite ulcéreuse et 6 semaines après l'annonce de ce  diagnostique, elle a subit une importante chirurgie. Elle vit avec une illéostomie permanente depuis ce jour.

 


Img_2897

Clinton Shard

Clinton Shard est un étudiant en commerce et un aventurier de Squamish, en Colombie-Britannique. Clinton a gravi le Kilimandjaro pour sensibiliser la population aux MII et est devenu une voix pour les jeunes vivant avec une maladie inflammatoire de l’intestin. Il a reçu un diagnostic de maladie de Crohn à l'âge de 12 ans.

 


Img_2914

Elliott Gordon

Elliott Gordon, originaire de Thornhill, en Ontario, étudie à l'étranger pour devenir pédogastroentérologue. Il aime courir avec son chien et travailler dehors, et il affectionne l'escalade et les voyages. Arrivant à bien vivre avec la maladie de Crohn depuis l'âge de 9 ans, il est devenu un ardent défenseur de la vie au-delà des confins de la maladie.

 


Img_2919

Geneviève Léveillé

Geneviève Léveillé, de St-Bruno, au Québec, est étudiante en soins infirmiers, à l'aise aussi bien en français qu’en anglais. Après avoir fait de la nage synchronisée de compétition, elle est aujourd’hui entraîneur. Elle a reçu un diagnostic de maladie de Crohn à l'âge de 13 ans et vit depuis avec une stomie.

 


Img_2908

Iain Chrisholm

Iain Chrisholm, la jeune vingtaine, est un passionné d’escalade et de design originaire de Truro, en Nouvelle-Écosse, qui vit actuellement à Calgary, en Alberta. Iain a reçu un diagnostic de maladie de Crohn à l'âge de 11 ans et a subi récemment une iléostomie permanente.

 

 


Img_2912

James Najman

James Najman est un étudiant en kinésiologie qui étudie à l'Université de la vallée du Fraser. Actuellement, il vit à Abbotsford, en Colombie-Britannique. James joue comme attaquant au sein des Cascades, l'équipe de football élite de son Université. Il a été diagnostiqué avec la maladie de Crohn à l'âge de 11 ans. James aime partager son histoire afin d'aider les autres à réaliser qu'ils peuvent obtenir tout ce qu'ils rêvent.


Jennie

Jennie David 

Jennie David est étudiante en psychologie à l'Université de Boston. Elle a été diagnostiquée avec la maladie de Crohn à l'âge de 12 ans, et a choisi d'avoir une illéostomie permanente à l'âge de 19 ans. Jennie souhaite être une psychologue pédiatrique pour les enfants atteints de maladies chroniques et veut également faire de la recherche pour la prise de décisions médicales. Jennie essaie de vivre chaque jour du mieux qu'elle le peut en ayant une vie active et en jouant un rôle d'advocacy pour les personnes vivant avec une MII. Elle a monté le Machu Picchu et a complété un demi-marathon pour sensibiliser les gens aux MII et aux stomies.


Img_2922

Jodi Sampson

Jodi Sampson est professeure de sciences dans une école secondaire. Originaire de Louisdale, en Nouvelle-Écosse, elle vit actuellement à Milton, en Ontario. S’assumant pleinement, Jodi partage ouvertement son diagnostic et s’en est même servi pour donner un cours à ses élèves sur le système digestif. Elle a reçu un diagnostic de maladie de Crohn à l'âge de 19 ans.

 


Img_2907

Jonathan Caron

Jonathan Caron est un homme de passion. Il est un triathlète professionnel et possède une détermination inébranlable. Jonathan a participé à plusieurs évènements internationaux en faisant parti de l'équipe nationale de triathlon. Jonathan est un homme inspirant et comprend parfaitement les effets dévastateurs que peut avoir une MII sur la vie. Jonathan vit avec la colite ulcéreuse depuis plus de 20 ans.


Kevin-web

Kevin Bourque

Kevin Bourque est un trentenaire de Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Fanatique de culture physique et de bien-être, il s’adonne à la Zumba, à l'haltérophilie, au yoga, aux arts martiaux, à la randonnée et à l'escalade. Kevin a reçu un diagnostic d’une forme infantile de la maladie de Crohn à l'âge de 5 mois et a subi une iléostomie permanente.


Img_2917

Marc Lelacheur

Âgé d’une vingtaine d’années, Marc Lelacheur travaille dans le domaine des technologies de l’information à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Amateur de bande dessinée, il aime aussi la photographie et les voyages. Marc a reçu un diagnostic de maladie de Crohn à l'âge de 16 ans et est depuis devenu un bénévole passionné pour la Fondation canadienne des maladies inflammatoires de l’intestin, à qui il offre son aide toute l’année durant.


Img_2901

Michele Hepburn

Michele Hepburn de Stittsville, en Ontario, est la présidente et l'un des membres fondateurs de la Fondation canadienne des 3C. Michele est une ancienne infirmière qui détient un baccalauréat en sciences de la santé. Elle vit avec la maladie de Crohn depuis 2001, et est devenue une porte-parole importante des personnes vivant avec la maladie de Crohn, la colite et le cancer colorectal.

 


Img_2925

Nancy

Vivant à Saint-Jean-sur-le-Richelieu, au Québec, Nancy travaille comme policière à Montréal, et sa plus grande passion est le voyage. Nancy parle aussi bien français qu’anglais. Elle vit avec la maladie de Crohn depuis l'âge de 27 ans.

 

 


Img_2893

Rob Hill

Rob Hill est un mordu d'escalade, de Nanaimo, en Colombie-Britannique; il est la seule personne atteinte de la maladie de Crohn et ayant subi une stomie à avoir escaladé non seulement le mont Everest, mais chacun des sept sommets. Rob est aussi l'un des fondateurs d’IDEAS (Intestinal Disease Education and Awareness Society). Il vit avec la maladie de Crohn depuis 1993.